European ESTHER Alliance

Esther Alliance

The European ESTHER Alliance (EEA) was founded after the creation of the GIP ESTHER (a public French agency which is now a part of EXPERTISE France) in March 2002. The EEA Secretariat is located in Paris, France, and has advanced the extension and structuring of the network by holding a number of European and bilateral meetings. By 2012, almost all of the Alliance’s member countries had released operating funds to define the modalities of their ESTHER work and implement activities in partner countries.

Since its creation, the EEA has evolved greatly – from an initial focus on HIV and AIDS, the Alliance is now working on many global health priorities aligned with the Sustainable Development Goals. This represents a new agenda for the Alliance, which is aligned with the international agenda in health.


A Health Systems Strengthening approach

The EEA has developed a Health Systems Strengthening approach across many areas, including care and treatment in health facilities, psychosocial support, therapeutic education, hospital and care management, institutional capacity development, operational research, drug procurement, supply management, monitoring & evaluation, health policy design, and quality management.

Starting from the North-South hospital partnership model, the EEA now includes additional and complementary approaches: Twinning with institutions other than hospitals (research institutes, universities), civil society organization partnerships, extra hospital technical assistance, and information and communication technologies. External funding has also introduced new modes of action and accountability.

From 4 country members in 2002 (France, Italy, Luxembourg, Spain), the EEA now consists of 12 country members (Austria, Belgium, Germany, Portugal who joined in 2004; Greece in 2006; Norway in 2008; Switzerland in 2011 and Ireland in 2012) and one observer country (UK).


Essential documents

You can learn more about the European ESTHER Alliance, and the projects being run by partner countries in the European Union and across the developing world by visiting their website –, if you would like to contact the European ESTHER Alliance Secretariat for any reason you can do so at the following address:

Farid Lamara
62, boulevard Garibaldi – 75015 Paris – FRANCE